folkarchivist

Holiday Parties–Advent Calendar

In Christmas on December 7, 2009 at 3:00 PM

It’s funny, I don’t think of our family get-togethers as parties, but I suppose that’s what they are.  In which case, we party every December 25th.  Growing up, we alternated years between our house and one of my aunt & uncles.  Usually this was a multi-day trip–we’d arrive Christmas Eve and leave Boxing Day most trips, and the same for the company at our house.  If it were at Nana & Jack’s, who were within an hour and half’s drive, we would relunctantly leave our freshly-opened gifts christmas morning and head out for Christmas dinner there, driving home afterwards.  Generally there were upward of 20 of us at these dinners.  And yes, the wearing of paper crowns found in christmas crackers was mandatory, seen below.  Also, in the early years, mom would sew us up matching outfits, also below.

We also had a get-together with my dad’s side of the family a couple of weeks before christmas, either at grandma’s or, one time, at a traditional Victorian feast at a posh restaurant.  This was a one-day party and held a special spot in my heart as I got to visit with my only older cousins (I’m the eldest by several years on the only side).  Usually there were 10 of us attending these.

I always loved work christmas parties, whether it was a meal at a restaurant all together, or a party complete with santa up in the break room.  You could always find me easily, usually seen with garland draped around my neck, santa hat on, and/or socks with jingle bells.  Yup, I’m one of those people, and just love it!  I miss those days, being retired now.

  1. Enjoying your genealogy blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

