folkarchivist

White–Festival of Postcards

In My Genealogy on December 18, 2009 at 9:37 PM

This postcard was given to my grandmother on her first Christmas, 1917.  While grandma was in Vancouver, BC, I’m not sure where Uncle Fred and Aunt Blanche were living at the time (Aha! a new genealogy project!).  I also wrote about this card in another post that may be found here.

Here is the reverse (the blue pen writing is my grandmother’s):

Thanks to Evelyn at acanadianfamily.com for inviting me to her Festival of Postcards!

  1. Hello Liza,
    Thank you again for entering your postcard in the Festival of Postcards (6th Ed.) White. You can see your entry and those of fellow participants here:
    http://wp.me/pp92w-77c
    It would be helpful if you could copy the url into your post to make it easier for readers to move back and forth between the entries.
    Thank you and have a good day!
    Evelyn in Montreal

  2. Even though this postcard is from 1917, I find the artwork on the card – especially the little girl and the toys – is reminiscent of my ’50s childhood.
    Evelyn in Montreal

  3. Liza, you’re doing fine. In any case, you could not have posted a link back to the White Festival itself until it was actually posted. Some people put up what I would call a “place-holder” link which could be back to either A Canadian Family or Festival of Postcards – HQ and then update the post later.
    Just keep on blogging!
    Evelyn in Montreal

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

